This weekend was quite productive, as one might hope considering we are officially two months from embarkation.  Four years ago on April 1st, I was writing poems praising my incipient return to the States.  On April 1st of this year, I was informing my landlady that in two months I would be moved out of her house and backpacking around another country.

The conversation had me really worried, and it was obvious she wasn’t totally excited about trying to find someone else.  However, I think that together we should be able to get someone in the apartment by June or July.  I don’t want to leave her in a bad place by any means.

I also discussed my incipient departure with my father this weekend.  He was less than thrilled.  I won’t go too deeply into that conversation, except to say he has some crazy lifeplans of his own at the moment so I don’t feel entirely sympathetic to his censure.  At least I come by it honest.

My new birth control apparently costs about $40 for three months without insurance, so if it works out that will keep me from being broke. 

And, last but not least, I found a pack this weekend!  For 40% off, and it’s a really nice one!  It is currently on hold and I will be returning to the shop to procure it this Saturday.  Then the boyfriend and I plan on going on some backpacking trips as training.

It has been an exciting few days, fair readers!  More updates to come!

 

